Front-end Development in dotnet.sg

yeoman-bower-npm-gulp

The web development team in my office at Changi Airport is a rather small team. We have one designer, one UI/UX expert, and one front-end developer. Sometimes, when there are many projects happening at the same time, I will also work on the front-end tasks with the front-end developer.

In the dotnet.sg project, I have chance to work on front-end part too. Well, currently I am the only one who actively contribute to the dotnet.sg website anyway. =)

Screen Shot 2017-01-29 at 12.49.23 AM.png

Official website for Singapore .NET Developers Community: http://dotnet.sg

Tools

Unlike the projects I have in work, dotnet.sg project allows me to choose to work with tools that I’d like to explore and tools that helps me work more efficiently. Currently, for the front-end of dotnet.sg, I am using the following tools, i.e.

  • npm;
  • Yeoman;
  • Bower;
  • Gulp.

Getting Started

I am building the dotnet.sg website, which is an ASP .NET Core web app, on Mac with Visual Studio Code. Hence, before I work on the project, I have to download NodeJs to get npm. The npm is a package manager that helps to install tools like Yeoman, Bower, and Gulp.

After these tools are installed, I proceed to get a started template for my ASP .NET Core web app using Yeoman. Bower will then follow up immediately to install the required dependencies in the web project.

screen-shot-2017-01-28-at-9-03-10-pm

Starting a new ASP .NET Core project with Yeoman and Bower.

From Bower with bower.json…

Working on the dotnet.sg project helps me to explore more. Bower is one of the new things that I learnt in this project.

To develop a website, I normally make use of several common JS and CSS libraries, such as jQuery, jQuery UI, Bootstrap, Font Awesome, and so on. With so many libraries to manage, things could be quite messed up. This is where Bower comes to help.

Bower helps me to manage the 3rd party resources, such as Javascript libraries and frameworks, without the need to locate the script files for each resources myself.

For example, we can do a search of a library we want to use using Bower.

Screen Shot 2017-01-28 at 9.44.47 PM.png

Search the Font Awesome library in Bower.

To install the library, for example Font Awesome in this case, then with just one command, we can easily do it.

$ bower install fontawesome

The libraries will be installed in the directory as specified in the Bower Configuration file, .bowerrc. By default, the libraries will be located at the lib folder in wwwroot.

screen-shot-2017-01-28-at-10-08-44-pm

Downloaded libraries will be kept in wwwroot/lib as specified in .bowerrc.

Finally, to check the available versions of a library, simply use the following command to find out more about the library.

$ bower info fontawesome

I like Bower because checking bower.json into the source control ensures that every developer in the team has exactly the same code. On top of that, Bower also allows us to lock the libraries to a specific version. This will thus prevent some developers to download some different version of the same library from different sources themselves.

…to npm with package.json

So, now some of you may wonder, why are we using Bower when we have npm?

Currently, there are also developers supporting the act to stop using Bower and switch to npm. Libraries such as jQuery, jQuery UI, and Font Awesome, can be found on npm too. So, why do I still talk about Bower so much?

For ASP .NET Core project, I face a problem on referring to node_module from the View. Similar as Bower, npm will position the downloaded packages in a local folder also. The folder turns out to be node_module, which is on the same level as wwwroot folder in the project directory.

As ASP .NET Core serves the CSS, JS, and other static files from the wwwroot folder which doesn’t have node_module in it, the libraries downloaded from npm cannot be loaded. One way will be using Gulp Task but that one is too troublesome for my projects so I choose not to go that way.

Please share with me how to do it with npm in an easier way than with Bower, if you know any. Thanks!

Goodbye, Gulp

I first learnt Gulp was when Riza introduced it one year ago in .NET Developers Community Singapore meetup. He was then talking about the tooling in ASP .NET Core 1.0 projects.

However, about four months after the meetup, I came to a video on Channel9 announcing that the team removed Gulp from the default ASP .NET template. I’m okay with this change because using BundleMinifier to do bundling and minifying of CSS and JS now without using Gulp because using bundleconfig.json in BundleMinifier seems to be straightforward.

However, the SCSS compilation is something I don’t know how to do it without using Gulp (Please tell me if you know a better way. Thanks!).

To add back Gulp to my ASP .NET Core project, I do the following four steps.

  1. Create a package.json with only the two compulsory properties, i.e. name and version (Do this step only when package.json does not exist in the project directory);
  2. $ npm install --save-dev gulp
  3. $ npm install --save-dev gulp-sass
  4. Setup the generated gulp.js file as shown below.
var gulp = require('gulp');
var sass = require('gulp-sass');

gulp.task('compile-scss', function(){
    gulp.src('wwwroot/sass/**/*.scss')
        .pipe(sass().on('error', sass.logError))
        .pipe(gulp.dest('wwwroot/css/'));
})

//Watch task
gulp.task('default', function() {
    gulp.watch('wwwroot/sass/**/*.scss', ['compile-scss']);
})

After that, I just need to execute the following command to run gulp and changes made to the .scss files in the sass directory will trigger the Gulp Task to compile the SCSS to corresponding CSS.

$ gulp

There is also a very detailed online tutorial written by Ryan Christiani, the Head Instructor and Development Lead at HackerYou, explaining each step above.

Oh ya, in case you are wondering what is the difference between –save and –save-dev in the npm commands above, I like how it is summarized on Stack Overflow by Tuong Le, as shown below.

  • –save-dev is used to save the package for development purpose. Example: unit tests, minification.
  • –save is used to save the package required for the application to run.

Conclusion

I once heard people saying that web developers were the cheap labour in software development industry because they are still having the mindset that web developers just plug-and-play modules on WordPress.

After working on the dotnet.sg project and helping out in front-end development at work, I realize that web development is not an easy plug-and-play job at all.

Leave a Reply

