Upgrading Fedora from 17 to 18 and then to 19, yum, yum, meow!

I installed Fedora 17 in the beginning of this year. Since the 17th version of Fedora already expired in July, so now I decided to upgrade it. I would also like to see if it is as easy as updating Windows 8 to Windows 8.1.

Upgrading from Fedora 17 to 18

There is a tutorial available at the wiki page of FedoraProject to guide users to update Fedora 17 to Fedora 18. I decided to use yum command to update the system because FedUp didn’t seem to work in my Fedora 17. For some reasons I didn’t know, the following error messages were printed out at the end of sudo fedup-cli –network 18 execution.

YumDownloadError: [u’perl-HTTP-Message-6.06-7.fc20.noarch: failure: Packages/p/perl-HTTP-Message-6.06-7.fc20.noarch.rpm from default-installrepo: [Errno 14] curl#22 – “The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found”‘, u’adwaita-gtk3-theme-3.10.0-1.fc20.i686: failure: Packages/a/adwaita-gtk3-theme-3.10.0-1.fc20.i686.rpm from default-installrepo: [Errno 14] curl#22 – “The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found”‘, u’sox-14.4.1-4.fc20.i686: failure: Packages/s/sox-14.4.1-4.fc20.i686.rpm from default-installrepo: [Errno 14] curl#22 – “The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found”‘, u’gnome-icon-theme-symbolic-3.10.1-1.fc20.noarch: failure: Packages/g/gnome-icon-theme-symbolic-3.10.1-1.fc20.noarch.rpm from default-installrepo: [Errno 14] curl#22 – “The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found”‘, u’celt-0.11.1-6.fc20.i686: failure: Packages/c/celt-0.11.1-6.fc20.i686.rpm from default-installrepo: [Errno 14] curl#22 – “The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found”‘, u’perl-File-Path-2.09-292.fc20.noarch: failure: Packages/p/perl-File-Path-2.09-292.fc20.noarch.rpm from default-installrepo: [Errno 14] curl#22 – “The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found”‘, u’usermode-gtk-1.111-4.fc20.i686: failure: Packages/u/usermode-gtk-1.111-4.fc20.i686.rpm from default-installrepo: [Errno 14] curl#22 – “The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found”‘]

Thus, although FedUp is a recommended way to upgrade Fedora 17, I have no choice but to upgrade it using yum instead.

After following the four steps listed on the tutorial, I rebooted PC. I pressed the Esc key at the loading screen. Then I realized that the system stuck at the following step at the loading screen.

[  OK  ] Started GNOME Display Manager

After doing some online searches, I found that I need to reinstall the polkit service. More details can be found online, for example the blog post that I found which shows the steps required to upgrade system to Fedora 18 successfully. Hence, what I did is while I was at the GRUB screen, I highlighted Fedora 18 and then I pressed ‘e‘ to edit the command before booting. After that I was brought to another screen where I could change the number of runlevel to 3, so that system could enter the text mode directly for me to enter the following command.

yum reinstall polkit

Then I chose to shutdown once the process was completed.

su – c “/sbin/shutdown -h now”

After that, I can successfully login to the graphical mode.

Successfully Upgraded to Fedora 18
Successfully upgraded to Fedora 18.

Upgrading from Fedora 18 to 19

When I tried to upgrade Fedora 18 to 19 with FedUp, the system displayed similar error messages as the time I upgraded Fedora 17 to 18. Thus, I have no choice but to use yum to upgrade Fedora 18 to 19 again.

To upgrade Fedora 18 to 19, it’s very straightforward. Just follow the steps listed at the tutorial then Fedora 19 will be available after rebooting.

/etc/os-release file shows that my Acer laptop is now running Fedora 19 !
/etc/os-release file shows that my Acer laptop is now running Fedora 19!

Within an hour, Fedora 19 can be used on my laptop. The upgrade is fast!

Meanwhile, threre is an article that I found online about Fedora 19, Fedora 19 Schrodinger’s Cat (Meow!) Reviews.

Leave a Reply

