Long Weekend Activity #4: Reading Clean Code by Robert C. Martin

I was reading the book Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship written by Robert C. Martin in the last long weekend. Today, I finally got the time to sit down and compile the notes that I took when I was reading the book.

Book cover of Clean Code

Book cover of Clean Code. Image Credits: Amazon.com: Books

Working for a local startup is fast-paced and hectic. Working for a startup means moving fast, and learning even faster. Thus sometimes my manager allows us to “hack”  a fast solution first without caring too much about the quality of the code as long as the code works. However, this is not good for both the company and the developers in the long run. Hence, clean code, a code which is designed-well, reader-friendly, is important.

Took-So-Long-To-Realize-Something-So-Obvious

It’s also a shame it took me so long to realize writing clean code is extremely important in my career. Image Credits: Shakugan no Shana Final

I read the first 11 chapters and the last chapter of the book which mainly focus on writing, spotting and maintaining clean code. Most of the suggestions in the book are awesome and easy to follow. Hence, after reading the book, I highlighted some of what I thought were its important points. What resulted is a 30-page summary of direct quotes and other important points from the book. Also, I included some relevant info that I got from online resources, such as StackExchange, MSDN and Wikipedia.

This book is an excellent read. However, it is very challenging to write clean code that is easy read and test. So, I hope with the help of this book, I will keep improving my code quality and eventually everyone will enjoy reading the code written by me. Take pride in my code!

Clean Code NotesView my notes here: http://goo.gl/oViFRK

Leave a Reply

