OneSync: The Fourth Version

OneSync is a synchronization tool to maximizes lightweight synchronization experience and provides both offline synchronization through thumb drive and online synchronization through Dropbox, a file hosting service (Resource: Wikipedia). It was the first app developed by the CodeDroids team from National University of Singapore. It was started as an open source project under GNU General Public License (GPL) version 3 in 2010 and hosted at Google Project Hosting (http://onesync.googlecode.com).

In 2012, this project became one of my personal hobby projects, the GCL Project. Thus, I only blog about OneSync now.

Why OneSync?
One day, when I was browsing through Facebook, I noticed a link posted by my friend.

OneSync Motivation
One of the Reasons Why OneSync Project Was Started

For those who are familiar with Dropbox should know that whenever someone signs up with Dropbox through a link we sent them, Dropbox will credit both us and the new user 250 MB of free storage. This is also famously known as the Referrals feature. Thus, my friend posted the Dropbox link on his Facebook wall to easily get people signing up as Dropbox new user. The reason was, as he said, he required more space on Dropbox.

At that time, my CodeDroids friends and I were still in the stage of doing some research on Dropbox to see if we could come up with an app which improved Dropbox usability. Then when I read my friend’s Facebook post, I was like, “Aha!” Why didn’t we build a software to help solving my friend’s problem? He was using Dropbox just to sync files between two of his computers. So, was there really a need to backup synced files on Dropbox until they occupied so much space on Dropbox?

In the following day, I talked about the idea of Light-weight Sync during CodeDroids meeting. Light-weight sync is basically just a way to removed files from intermediate storage, for example Dropbox, once they are synced in two computers. By doing so, we would make sure the usage of Dropbox to be low.

Yup, that basically marked the beginning of OneSync development days.

Improvement in OneSync 4

OneSync 4 Logo

The improvement work on OneSync will never stop, hopefully.

In OneSync 4, the focus is on fixing two serious bugs found in the previous version (Issue 156 and Issue 154). They caused problems in Sync Preview by displaying wrong preview results and files couldn’t be deleted. In fact, one of the bugs was reported by a staff from Microsoft when OneSync was submitted to Microsoft for review. However, since she couldn’t give us a detailed description of the bug at that time, we didn’t continue on finding out the problem.

Besides bug fixing, a improvement done on OneSync is the GUI improvement. Finally, I found the way to implement drag-and-drop ListView item in WPF (My blog post about this: Drag-and-drop Reordering in WPF ListView). I basically just followed the instructions shown on Drag and Drop Items in a WPF ListView – CodeProject® written by Josh Smith.

Drag-and-drop Feature in OneSync 4
Drag-and-drop Feature in OneSync 4

These are basically what I did in OneSync 4.

The Path to Better App
As promised, I will continue working on OneSync. Since one of my CodeDroids teammates once said, “We cannot ignore the requests from our users. If there are bugs, we should fix them and keep making our app better.”

Finally, I’d like to thank those who have showed interest and downloaded OneSync. Thanks for your support since two years ago because your support is my motivation to continue working on OneSync as well. =)

OneSync 4 Download Page: http://onesync.googlecode.com

Leave a Reply

